Yeah I’m a travelin’ man…er woman- Travel Fitness

So I’ve got a very cool trip to Europe coming up in just a few short weeks. I love traveling. There’s always magic in visiting new places. One of my favorite things to do is figure out how to get a workout in while I’m on the road.

Now from my last trip to Europe I learned a few things. One of the biggies is that you don’t have the same proliferation of gyms as you do in the US. Specifically, you don’t find nearly as many hotel fitness centers as you do in the US. If you do get a fitness center, the chances are it’s a hotel designed to cater to American tourists. Where’s the fun in that? It’s a lot more interesting to find a quirky hotel and then figure out a quirky workout to go with it.

Some of my favorite mobile workouts:

1)Walking. That’s right, basic walking. When playing tourist, I love to walk as much as possible. I take a pedometer with me and make it a game to see how many steps I get in a single day. The goal is always to beat my average step count for home.

2)Body weight circuit. From the keep it simple school, body weight exercises can never fail you. I specifically pick exercises that are hotel friendly. That means no jump squats to wake up the downstairs neighbors. My typical rotation includes:

Pushups

Bench/Chair Dips

Body weight squats

Lunges

Standing calf raise

Plank for time

Bicycles

Each exercise is 15-12 reps with 15 seconds of rest between each exercise. Rest 30 seconds between each circuit. I do between 3-5 circuits depending on available time.

3) Resistance bands. A couple of bands in your suitcase take up little room and add additional variety and resistance to your daily workout.

4) TRX. This is a new addition to my workouts and I’m looking forward to seeing how it works on the trip.

The big key is being ready for various challenges. If I’m thinking it through now, that means I’ve got a better chance of not getting tripped up in the future.

What are some of your favorite ways to get a workout in when you travel? Looking for ideas to workout when you travel? Drop me a comment!

4 responses to “Yeah I’m a travelin’ man…er woman- Travel Fitness

  • Nina

    Love all your ideas! I’m a huge fan of walking. On this trip I’m walking and I brought my kettle bell. If I were flying I don’t think I would bring the bell though. Have a great trip!

  • Kek

    We walk, walk, and walk! Usually the places we stay don’t have gyms, and for the short time I’m away, I don’t fuss about training, just aim to be active to burn off the few cocktails I like to indulge in. Oh and to not go nuts at the breakfast buffet… 🙂

    We’re off to south-east Asia again in a couple of weeks, and this time around, we do have gyms at some of our hotels, so I MAY fit in a workout or two. I’m not promising anything….

  • John Lesko

    And if your hotel has a gym, use it. Love the walk-walk-walk and use body weight exercise advice. When we’re away from home it’s too easy to ignore proper nutrition and opt to skip a workout. This is GR8 advice.

Leave a Reply

