Biggest Loser and wanting it

You have to want it.

At the end of the day, weight loss, physique transformation, and athletic performance all require that you want the change more than you want to stay the same.  When you look at people who’ve achieved long term success, one thing stands out. They wanted to make the changes and they kept fighting for it.

This week’s Biggest Loser episode was filmed back in February. The contestants were informed that past contestants who were voted off would be given a chance to make it into the finals. This isn’t new. It’s a Biggest Loser “surprise” that’s anything but. The surprise this season was from the remaining contestants. They protested the fairness of this surprise twist (which was actually in the contracts they signed to be on the show.) When told it was still going to happen, they threatened to walk off. In the end, two contestants left.

As a Biggest Loser fan, I’ve got to confess this season has been next to impossible to watch. As a former fat chick, listening to the constant barrage of negativity makes me wince. I spent a long time getting myself out of that head space so I could become a strong, fit person. As a trainer, these folks remind me of clients I’ve fired over the years. Too often it sounds like these folks don’t really want to be fit and healthy. They just want the prize at the end with no work.

That attitude isn’t unusual. When you first start working out, that prize at the end is all you can understand. Be it a pair of smaller pants, or a number on the scale, this is something you can understand and see. “Feeling like a million bucks” is a bit harder to comprehend. As a trainer, one of the things I try to do is get people to those moments where they can experience that “million bucks” feeling. If they hit it often enough, it’s a way for them to continue to build their inner motivation. They stop wanting a number and start wanting that feeling. Once you find that feeling, and work towards it daily, nothing will stop you.

Watching these folks on Biggest Loser made me a bit sad. After weeks of working with two excellent trainers, they don’t seem any closer to understanding that it’s not about the money or the pants size. It’s not about what others do. It’s about what YOU do, day in and day out.

The people on Biggest Loser had the option to walk out and quit. Life doesn’t give you that out. You are in this game until you die. So make a decision. How are you going to live your life? How bad do you really want these changes you are trying to achieve.

Make a decision.

One response to “Biggest Loser and wanting it

  • Tammie

    Thank you Clara.
    Tonights work out felt great. I am starting to find that wonderful high of working out again. By the way the knee is feeling awesome. No pain.
    On the way into the gym (like every trip to the gym). It is so easy to get distracted. To let my mind win…. But tonight I see my brothers face… We are not close my older brother and I… We have a lot of both shared pain as well as ocean of pain between us that keeps us apart.
    My older brother had a heart attack while at the hospital Monday because he didn’t feel well. I would hazard to guess that my brother dosent feel well a lot but this time was different and he went to the hospital. My brother had to have a stent put in due to a blockage in his heart. My brother is 47. I am 45. All of my family line above my brother and I are dead. Most due to heart disease. My brother walked out of the hospital AMA. I kept thinking why won’t you even try… After my hospital stay last month I know I have run out of time. I can’t play at this.I have to be commited. I can’t look in the mirror and say Tommorrow…. There are no more Tomorrows. There is only now and what I do to live now. Each moment is a gift. Each workout, each weight I lift. It is payment for that gift of another moment. This is what it feels like when you live on borrowed time….
    I choose to fight to pay for my today, to build hope of tomorrow.
    It is not what happens to you that matters…. it is what you do about it. Day in and day out.
    Thank you Clara.

Leave a Reply

