Reflecting on a milestone

This week marks a significant personal milestone. Six years ago, I finished my Body for Life challenge, and changed everything. I went from being an overweight, unhappy, and uninspired woman to a fit, happy, and driven top 10 finalist.

That 12 weeks helped me figure out what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. I didn’t want to spend it yo-yoing back and forth, struggling to find a place in the world. I wanted to reach out and help others. Since that time I’ve pushed myself to continue to live up to that desire.

Many of you are finishing up 12 week challenges. You may think that this 12 weeks marks the end of your journey. It’s just the beginning. You have the chance to continue to grow, to learn, and to inspire the people around you. The key is that you need to be willing to keep stretching. Don’t get comfortable. Don’t just sit back and assume that nothing will go wrong. Keep looking for things that inspire you.

Congratulations, and don’t stop reaching for the stars!

One response to “Reflecting on a milestone

  • AmandaT

    Congratulations Clara, you definitely have come a long way. It’s been wonderful to share this journey so far with you – I can’t wait to see where you go next! You have certainly been reaching out and helping others – well done on following your dreams.

    It’s so true that you need to look to what’s next. Nothing is a destination in itself, but rather a stepping stone to something else. If you don’t keep reaching you never know where you can go.

    Next week I’m once again competing on the velodrome – including 4 of the 6 races that I’ve never done before! Anyone can do this, you just have to be willing to give it a go and give up on your perfectionist leanings (a big lesson for me). All 4 of these new races will be PBs for me – what more can I ask of myself?

    AmandaT

Leave a Reply

